Just Shoot Me Now!

This is a confession.

I’m sure I’m not alone in committing such a sewing faux pas. Just thought you’d get a chuckle out of my folly whilst I put “pen to paper” to document this so as to remember not to do it again!

Sewing Lesson #1:
DON’T SEW WHEN YOU’RE TIRED! You WILL make stupid mistakes, causing you to befriend your seam ripper. You’d think I would have learned this lesson well over the years. Apparently, I’m either quite dense or in need of a refresher coarse.

Sewing Lesson #2:
DOUBLE CHECK YOUR PROJECT BEFORE FIXING THE MISTAKES FROM THE NIGHT BEFORE! ‘Nuff said.

On to the inevitable confession….I’m whipping up a basic 3 gore walking skirt for my daughter’s friend before she goes home to Germany. Simple project, right? You’d think so. I’ve made this exact pattern about 10 times. Suffice it to say, sewing on a zipper (which I’ve done a thousand times) doesn’t go well at 2am. I managed to sew it in backwards, with the zipper pull toward the inside of the skirt. Duh. I was at least wise enough to give up and go to bed.

This morning, I ripped the zipper out and put it in correctly. Again, simple. It was beautiful. A perfectly executed installation. And, I used a regular presser foot instead of a zipper foot so I could show her how it’s done. *Sigh* The only problem this time? I didn’t double check my seams from the late night stitchery and managed to put the zipper into the seam at the hem instead of the waist….both times! Double Duh!

So, out comes Mr. Seam Ripper…it really should be permanently attached to my hand.  You’ll be relieved to know (I certainly was) that the zipper went in correctly on the third try.

Annie, get your gun and get me away from the sewing machine!

About Lady McCormick

Wife, mother, time traveling Cache Curator. Does life get any better?
This entry was posted in 2012, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Shoot Me Now!

  1. Lavenrose says:

    Like what was said a thousand times before, mistakes happen. I'm pretty sure that you are not the only one in that case. ^^; Though I do get where you are coming from when it comes to mistakes. *Looks back on mistakes done in the past*

Leave a Reply

