Steampunk

I have a new hobby….like I needed another one! Steampunk….

One person describes Steampunk as “science meets romance”. I’ve always loved history, including Victorian clothing and furniture. I also love fantasy novels. Time travel, steam locomotives, airships, steam powered weaponry, submarines, old fashioned ideals and dress….these are all incorporated into the genre as a train wreck of fantastical ideas. Now, I finally have a label for my “style”. See pictures of my first Steampunk outfit below.

Here are some great places to find out more about Steampunk and see what I’m talking about…..
Explanation of what Steampunk is
Steampunk Empire
Steampunk Livejournal Community
Steampunk Home Decorating
Steampunk for sale on Etsy
Steampunk pictures from DragonCon

I put this outfit together at the last minute for Sugoicon 2010.
This picture is a close up to see the goggles and jewelry. I made the goggles…Look for a more detailed post on those in the future. The watches, pins, rings, earrings, and necklaces I already owned. Like the Victorians…more is more. I just kept layering them on. The colors in this picture are pretty accurate.The skirt is a long burgundy suede I already had. The vest is a very dark chocolate brown brocade from the thrift store. The shirt is off white with brown embroidery on the collar and front placard. The jacket is a lightweight embroidered cream duster from the thrift store. I wore brown boots (not pictured) to finish it off.The hat is one I’ve had for about 15 years. In the following picture, there is a black pouch on my belt under the jacket. It was one I borrowed from my son and it got pretty bulky with all my necessities since I didn’t carry a purse. I’m working on making several small pouches to replace it. The old leather belt came from a yard sale.

About Lady McCormick

Wife, mother, time traveling Cache Curator. Does life get any better?
This entry was posted in 2010, Costumes, Steampunk. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steampunk

  1. Ginger says:

    Great outfit! I love that you posted pictures of you for a change! I miss seeing you! 🙂 Love ya!

Leave a Reply

