The Irish Dance Dress Saga Part 2

Okay, so I’m reeling* down the path toward completion with this dress. I’ve got the bodice, skirt, skirt lining, and panel sewn. I do not, however, have them sewn all together yet.

The 3 part applique is cut and pieced. It just needs to be sewn on. I discovered I didn’t own an open embroidery/applique foot for my ancient machine. I’m sure I could use my zig zag foot, but this is the most complicated applique I’ve ever done and I only want to do it once. Alas…I’m waiting impatiently for the part to arrive so I can finish the applique.

Next I’ll be working on the sleeves.

There are many decisions yet to make. Do I make this a one piece dress, or two? If its a two piece, do I put buttons, velcro, or snaps on the bodice to keep it aligned with the skirt whilst the wearer is slip jigging around the stage? Do I use an invisible zipper? Do I make the zipper the entire length of the one or two piece outfit? If its a two piece, could I get away with an elastic waistband? How about a partially elasticized waistband? Well, I guess I’ll ponder and answer these queries as I go along. Stay tuned for more!

*(Sorry, couldn’t resist the pun earlier….a reel is a type of Irish dance.=^.^= )

UPDATE:  I made the dress in 2 pieces.  The bodice is has a zipper the full length, and the skirt has a small zipper on the side with elastic in the back of the waistband.  This dress also features a cape, and matching bloomers.  DD didn’t want a matching headband.  She wears it with a bow or tiara.
UPDATE: See Part 3 here. P.S….if you missed Part 1, find it here.

About Lady McCormick

Wife, mother, time traveling Cache Curator. Does life get any better?
This entry was posted in 2010, Costumes, Irish Dance, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

