Chair Transformation

Jump over to The Shabby Chic Cottage to see all the great projects.

A friend gave me this super comfy chair several years ago.Its a peachy pink velveteen that’s a little faded and ratty around the edges. I love this chair so much I dragged it along on a cross country move. Of course, I’ve been meaning to make a slipcover for it for ages…but we all know how that goes!

Since I spruced up my studio, it was really looking tired and out of place. I found a gorgeous toile for $5 a yard. Its a heavy cotton linen blend with a tea stained background and red victorian country scenes. Unfortunately, there were only 3.8 yards of the toile so I had to do a little creative piecing. There wasn’t even enough to completely cover the chair. I happened to have a red taffeta with tea colored embroidered flowers that I picked up for about $4 a yard. I bought it to accent my drapes in the living room {right around the corner from my studio}. I changed my drapery design, and {fortunately} had alot of the taffeta left over. The red in the toile and the red taffeta match perfectly!I covered 3 buttons with the taffeta for a little added detail on the front sides.I didn’t think it was possible to love this chair more but I do!
P.S…I have a 50 cent footstool that goes with this chair…awaiting its slipcover…stay tuned for more slipcover fun.

About Lady McCormick

Wife, mother, time traveling Cache Curator. Does life get any better?
This entry was posted in Decorating, Sewing, Transformation Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

