What is Lolita…What is Quaintrelle Fashion?

I’ve been pondering a lot lately just what a gentle lifestyle entails. One of my conclusions is that you will feel good about yourself when you dress to feel good. My daughter, Miss H, and I believe that our outward appearance should show a glimpse of our inner beauty. Above all, we should be a reflection of God, the One who created us. Lolita fashion is perfect for us.

To get started, here are some great links for beginners (like us).
Communities, Blogs, and Explanations:
Christian Lolitas
Lolita Handbook
Lolita Styles
What is Lolita Fashion?
Elegant Gothic and Lolita (EGL)
Lolita Charm
Miss Lumpy
Lolita In Translation

Fashion Inspiration and Shops:
Juliette et Justine
Mary Magdalene
Metamorphose
Megan Maude

Baby the Stars Shine Bright
Candy Violet
Anna House

The one problem I have with Lolita fashion (apart from the term Lolita) is that I feel its too young looking for me. I like the concept, but poofy skirts are beyond my age bracket. I like the victorian “aristocrat” look, and its more for my age, but its a little too stuffy for me sometimes. Then, I ran across this great explanation of “Quaintelle” fashion. This is exactly the off shoot I was looking for! This quote from Vivien’s page says it all…”Quaintrelle style can be defined the same way the word “quaint” can be defined, it is unusual or fanciful, with a sense of old-fashioned charm and prettiness.” Quaintrelle encompasses Lolita fashion, as well as Historical fashion, and general feminine dress. Here’s her forum, and blog too.

About Lady McCormick

Wife, mother, time traveling Cache Curator. Does life get any better?
This entry was posted in Lolita, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

