Fruits Basket…Tohru Honda


Ok, my one anime costume per year rule is officially out the window. I’ve ended up making one for every Animecon we’ve gone to….which is 3 so far and 2 more on the horizon.
This time I made Tohru Honda from the manga Fruits Basket. She’s wearing a basic Japanese winter school uniform…not to difficult, right. WRONG! The hardest thing about this costume was the lack of patterns! Think I could find a pleated skirt pattern? Nope. How about a sailor shirt pattern? Again, no. Of course, I could’ve bought most or all the pieces online, but I’m a cheapskate. The whole costume only cost $31.50. Walmart had the shoes($13), and navy socks($2). The skirt came from a yard sale($1). It was a size too small and too long, so I took off the waistband, shortened it up a bit and made a new waistband to fit. The skirt and shirt are just a shade different, but its hard to tell unless your in direct sunlight. The blue shirt is a bottomweight($6)for body, and the white part is an old sheet($0)I had. The only other expenses were the pattern($1 on sale), iron on interfacing($3), thread($1.50), and grosgrain ribbon for the trim and hair bows($4).

I used a Simplicity jacket pattern #2728 for the shirt. I had to modify the collar to make it a sailor collar, lengthen the sleeves and create a cuff, and modify the front to get the inverted v and make it one piece. I used the same sheet to make a bias tape for the trim on the bottom. The sailor collar is lined, and has double interfacing to make it stiff enough. The cuffs also have interfacing. I didn’t line the shirt, but will if I make another one….or get the itch to go back and line this one. If you’re entering a cosplay contest, it could detract a little from your score if it isn’t lined.

So, here’s the manga picture of Tohru…
And, here’s the “real” Tohru…
And, here’s the Fruits Basket crew at Animecon.

About Lady McCormick

Wife, mother, time traveling Cache Curator. Does life get any better?
This entry was posted in 2009, Costumes, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

