Transformation Thursday…Picture and Frame


Check out all the great projects people have submitted for Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Chic Cottage.

This week, I worked on an old red riding hood print I received as a gift about 16 years ago. My mom had given me an old frame with an ugly water damaged print in it. I took the print out, painted the frame gold, and added this print. Unfortunately, I didn’t yet know anything about using acid free materials. So, the print faded. It was interesting though. The background leaves and flowers faded a lot, but the girl didn’t noticeably fade at all. Here’s the fix.

This was a corner piece on the original frame. It once displayed a nautical print.

I was tired of the gold color and the corner pieces. I gently pried them off and filled the nail holes with putty. I painted the frame white and washed over it with a burnt umber. Then, I thinned a nice sage green and gave it a couple swipes of color. I finished it with Aleene’s Heirloom Crackle varnish. I absolutely LOVE this stuff. It gives a glossy finish that has tiny hairline crackles like crazing on china plates. The interesting thing about this varnish…when used over a metallic paint, it develops a slight verdigris coloring. Really cool if you want an instant patina without extra chemicals. Sorry, this pic is not very good for showing the actual colors.

I took the red riding hood print out of the frame and used artist’s chalk and cotton balls to give the faded areas back their color. It worked like a charm! Once again, the colors aren’t very good in this pic.

About Lady McCormick

Wife, mother, time traveling Cache Curator. Does life get any better?
This entry was posted in Decorating, Transformation Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

